Board of Directors

OEN Board of Directors 2021-2022

The Ontario Energy Network continues to be gratified by the outstanding sector leaders that offer their time and talent to serve as members of our board. For the 2021-2022 term our Chair is Lyla Garzouzi, Chief Safety Officer, Hydro One, and our Vice-Chair is Lesley Gallinger, President & CEO of the IESO.

The following people make up the 2021-2022 Board of Directors of your Ontario Energy Network:

Lyla Garzouzi, OEN Chair

Lyla Garzouzi, P. Eng. was appointed Hydro One’s Chief Safety Officer in November 2020. She is charged with transforming Hydro One’s safety culture, in addition to overseeing the company’s health and environment portfolio. Prior to this role she was Vice-President of Distribution at Hydro One, where she was instrumental in leading the company’s grid modernization journey to improve power system reliability. She is a Professional Engineer in the Province of Ontario and was recently named one of Canada’s “Top 40 Under 40.”

Lesley Gallinger, OEN Vice Chair

Lesley Gallinger is the President and CEO of the IESO, Ontario’s Independent Electricity System Operator. Previously, Ms. Gallinger served as President & CEO of Elexicon Energy Inc., Vice-President, and Chief Strategy and Financial Officer of the Electrical Safety Authority, and as Vice-President, Corporate and Regulatory Affairs and CFO at Oakville Hydro Corporation. She holds a Schulich School of Business MBA, is a Chartered Professional Accountant (CMA) and a Certified Public Accountant (Illinois), and has completed the Chartered Director and Audit Committee programs at the DeGroote School of Business, McMaster University.

Cara Clairman, OEN Director

Cara Clairman is President and CEO of Plug’n Drive, a non-profit that is accelerating the deployment of electric vehicles (EVs) to maximize their environmental and economic benefits. Cara has more than 25 years of experience working in the environmental and sustainability fields, including 12 years working at Ontario Power Generation, initially as OPG’s environmental lawyer and later in the role of Vice President of Sustainable Development. Prior to joining OPG, Cara spent five years practicing environmental law with the Torys law firm.
She holds a Bachelor of Laws from Osgoode Hall and a Masters in Environmental Studies from York University, as well as an Honours Bachelor of Science degree from Queen’s University.

Michael Kobzar, OEN Director

Michael Kobzar is the Head of Ontario Sales for Power Transmission and Distribution for Siemens Energy. An electrical technologist by education, Michael has worked in marketing and business development his entire career. Michael has been with the Siemens organization for 17 years in a variety of roles with increasing responsibility. He continues to serve on many boards both in and out of the energy sector.

Marica Macura, OEN Director

Marica Macura is the Director, Member Relations & Events at the Electricity Distributors Association (EDA). Marica has focused most of her 20 plus years of energy sector service in the area of building strong working relationships with local electricity distribution companies (LDCs), as well as with service providers and other related organizations. In her role at EDA she is responsible for presenting such important and flagship energy industry events as CUEE, EDIST, and Women Connected, and as such she is very well-known across the energy sector. Marica has served as an OEN director since 2012. Marica’s passions include social justice, equality, and diversity.

Joanna Osawe, OEN Director

Joanna Osawe is Chair, President & CEO of Women in Renewable Energy (WiRE), a group which encourages and supports women to enter this dynamic field. WiRE is inclusive and educates on all renewable and emerging energy technologies with chapters Canada-wide. WiRE has expanded internationally to Istanbul, Turkey; Tbilisi, Georgia; Baku, Azerbaijan; Amman, Jordan; and UAE. Joanna attended Western University, studying Languages, graduating with an Honours BA. Over a 15+ year management career at leading energy sector companies in Canada and the US, Joanna has seen firsthand the vital role renewable energy and emerging technologies serve in moving the Canadian, US and Global energy mix forward.

Dan Pastoric, OEN Director

Dan Pastoric, P. Eng. is Vice President of Strategic Growth and Special Projects at Alectra. Dan held diverse positions at Ontario Hydro before leaving and founding an energy services company. He was appointed to the Ontario government’s Market Design Committee and served on the inaugural board of IESO. In 2008 he became EVP & Chief Operating Officer at Enersource, eventually becoming the sector’s first Chief Customer Officer. Dan was instrumental in Enersource’s merger with PowerStream and Horizon Utilities and the purchase of Hydro One Brampton – creating Alectra. He then led Alectra’s M&A team in merging with Guelph Hydro and creating the Green Energy and Technology Centre. Dan is a Registered Professional Engineer in Ontario, holding engineering and MBA degrees from McMaster University and a Chartered Director designation from Directors College.

Zsolt Sepa, OEN Director

Zsolt Sepa, P.Eng. is the Vice President at S&C Electric Ltd Canada, leading the commercial facing aspect of the company. Zsolt is passionate about helping the industry transition to a highly intelligent, reliable smart grid and regularly contributes to the industry knowledge pool as an Uptime Institute Accredited Tier Designer, LEED Accredited Professional, and Senior IEEE member. Zsolt regularly speaks at industry events and conferences on a range of topics. Zsolt holds a Bachelor of Science degree in Electro-mechanical Engineering from North University of Baia Mare in Romania and Master of Science degree in Electrical Engineering from Aalborg University in Denmark.

John Loucks, OEN Director (Ex Officio)

John Loucks is the President & CEO of OEN. Prior to joining OEN in 2017, John worked John Loucks is the President & CEO of OEN. Prior to joining OEN in 2017, John worked in a wide variety of roles in the utility industry, from a summer job at Bruce Nuclear Power Development to technical positions at the City of Calgary Electric System (now ENMAX) and Brampton Hydro. He also held chief executive roles at utilities in Napanee and Nanticoke, before joining Brantford Power as COO. After six terms on the board of the EDA and MEARIE, including serving as Chair of EDA once and MEARIE twice, he joined EDA, holding senior roles up to and including CEO. John is an O.A.C.E.T.T. member and C.E.T. in Ontario and received his Bachelor of Commerce degree from York University.